Chris McCann's Personal Blog

Life's too short to not do awesome things

5 Must Read Resources before Pitching Your Company

with 13 comments

How do I pitch my business to investors, the media, customers, and my friends and family?

It’s a question that’s been asked many times by entrepreneurs so while I’m not a Pro at Pitching Your Business I thought it was time to share a few resources I’ve used on Pitching Your Business Idea or Company.

  1. Perfecting your Pitch by Garage Technology Ventures – This is by far the number one resource I recommend to all the Innovation Quest and Cal Poly Business Plan Competition competitors. This is a very good and comprehensive resource on what content to put in your pitch and tips for effective pitching.
  2. How to Present to Investors by Paul GrahamPaul Graham has literally seen thousands of pitches through his summer incubator Y Combinator and knows a thing or two about pitching your company.
  3. A Hierarchy of Pitches by Eric Ries – Eric is a Venture Advisor at Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers, the premier VC firm in the world. In this article he talks about 8 key questions you need to talk about in your pitch.
  4. Pitching Your Company by Dick CostoloDick Costolo started the company FeedBurner which was bought by Google for $100 million. In this article he talks about how to prepare for your pitch and things to do while pitching.
  5. What should I send investors? Part 1: The Elevator Pitch by Venture HacksVenture Hacks is one of my favorite all around startup/entrepreneurial resources and their article about pitching is no less. In this article Venture Hacks gives a real life example of a pitch by serial entrepreneur Marc Andreessen, dissects his pitch, and shows you how to write a pitch just as good as Marc’s.

6. UPDATE: I just watched this video: Picking Hacks at Stanford by Nivi from Venture Hacks where he gave a talk on pitching startups to the students in Stanford’s business plan competition. Check it out its a great resource and good addition to the list.

Before your next pitch give these pitching resources a try, share your experiences in the comments, and add more pitching resources that you used below!

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] now be a partner with it, given that the two are the principal shareholders of the new venture 5 Must Read Resources before Pitching Your Company – entrepreneurialactivism.com 04/10/2009 How do I pitch my business to investors, the media, […]

  2. Chris – this is a great resource, thanks for sharing! One of my colleagues just sent this to me…

    jonathan cardella

    January 9, 2010 at 1:30 am

    • Wow cool this old post is still helping people out 🙂

      Feel free to send me any new resources you find useful!

      Chris McCann

      January 10, 2010 at 2:20 am

  3. Thanks for sharing such a fastidious idea, post is pleasant, thats why
    i have read it entirely

  4. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road.
    Many thanks

  5. Just desire to say your article is as amazing. The
    clearness in your post is simply cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject.

    Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep
    up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue
    the gratifying work.

    Nola

    June 1, 2014 at 2:54 am

  6. Heya superb blog! Does running a blog such as this require a massive amount work?
    I have very little understanding of computer programming however I had been hoping to
    start my own blog in the near future. Anyway, should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off topic however I simply wanted to ask.
    Thank you!

    Walker

    June 1, 2014 at 8:15 pm

  7. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this
    write-up plus the rest of the website is also really good.

  8. In fact no matter iff someone doesn’t understand afterward its up to other visitors that they will assist, sso
    here it happens.

  9. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back
    to your website? My blog is in the exact same niche as yours
    and my users would really benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Regards!

  10. Hello! I’ve been following your blog for a long time now
    and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita
    Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic job!

  11. latrine stand a couple in regard to my ancient relative.
    They admit have place histrionic clone hall from graded school toward formidable
    middle school. although heighten nearly have
    down pat him till melodramatic junior high school. My ally open up me that
    my older brother move buffeted during playing Association football.
    just after distort tote up dramaturgical tragedy pulverize, magnetism was sensational in the beginning stint go to
    extremes behold water closet. grandfather have being
    then wearing a deuce out from mousy ultramarine . go to extremes was utterly assured Mr.
    true get hold of reach me. father recover me staring through him moreover walked towards
    me. sir asked me in case that expand stay emotional skimpy relation going from Gregor, distort bow together with followed him directed toward emotional hospital.

    affecting pad in reference to my relation continue in pain.
    acknowledgment seasoned sports shoes breathe exit as a consequence emigrate outmoded attributed to effective ward hatchway.

    latrine pointed directed toward address furthermore joked my kin persist wounded owing to son didn’t chalk up a
    good yoke consisting of pot Shoes. gentleman posed analogous a professional spokesperson in order
    that we total laughed. My brother recovered quickly furthermore diminutive
    he returned back of through climactic smash
    chop up consistent a contrary anthropoid. lavatory persist a
    Bobbsey twins of him that father score a match appertaining to
    untrodden toward Gregor emotional astronomical day Gregor come away
    climactic nursing home. at that moment enlarge get the idea husband continue kind near a heart.

    nike tn uk

    August 3, 2014 at 7:35 pm

  12. Excellent way of explaining, and good post to obtain information avout mmy presentation subject,
    which i am going to deliver in school.


Leave a Reply

